Remote Controlling Cubase (on Win7) via Macbook?

Post Reply
Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Remote Controlling Cubase (on Win7) via Macbook?

Post by Brandy »

Today I tried IC Pro the first time and I am euphoric :)

But using it on an iPhone is fine for the basic stuff, maybe when recording vocals or just managing the cue mix...

I will get myself am iPad maybe - but wouldn't it be great if I would be able to use my Macbook Pro or my Macbook Air for controlling my studio DAW? I am a drummer and I am used to use my Laptop beside me when I play & record drums.. when sweating and being in full-power mode the handling of the iphone Touchsceeen is quite nasty..

Is there a way controlling Cubase/Nuendo running on my Main DAW (Win7 64bit) with my Macbook?

At the best without having to resize the Quad-Screen Setup on my DAW... and because I have no Lan Cables between the rooms it would be awesome to just do it via WLan.

I heard/read about quite a lot ways to do it in the past - but all of them felt quite uncomfortable.

So I basically see two ways:

- Some kind of remote desktop
- Something like IC Pro, but running on the Macbook

Brandy
Last edited by Brandy on Sun Jul 20, 2014 10:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote Controlling Cubase (on Win7) via Macbook?

Post by -steve- »

It occurs to me that you could conceivably use a MIDI Device Panel in a lower version of Cubase, like AI or Elements, routed to a network midi port, and then set up a Generic Remote listening on that port on Cubase on the Windows machine.

Not an easy task, (and I do not know about Windows network midi cables- but Mac OS has then built-in)

So that's my partial-idea contribution! :?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
Indigo
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:45 am

Re: Remote Controlling Cubase (on Win7) via Macbook?

Post by Indigo »

Easiest (and most economical) solution: buy a cheap Android tablet (you don't need fancy graphics. An old dual-core will do and you can find one of those on EBay for as little as $100.) ICPro works just as well on Android as it does on iPad.
Main system: i7 4770k, 32gb RAM, 512 gb SSD (OS), 1 tb SSD (audio), 3x 3tb SATA III 7200-rpm drives (samples), 3x 3tb USB 3.0 (backup/general storage), nVidia GTX 780 ti (3 monitors), Antec Sonata III case, Win 8.1 Pro, RME UFX audio interface.

Post Reply

Return to “Cubase iC Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests