Halion Sonic 3 SE: I see MIDI activity but hear no sound

Post general topics related to HALion 6 and HALion Sonic 3 here.
Post Reply
creativeforge
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:21 pm
Contact:

Halion Sonic 3 SE: I see MIDI activity but hear no sound

Post by creativeforge »

Hi all,

OS: Windows7 64
DAW: Mixcraft
Halion Sonic 3 SE: v.3.1.10.85

So I downloaded a VST piano tonight (Novel) and had to install Halion Sonic 3 SE to use it. I thought "cool."

It's been a full hour of setting this up (password changes, e-Licenser update, downloads, install) reading, watching bits of videos, but I can't find information as to WHY no sound is coming out. I see the MIDI blinking (using the Halion pianoroll or a 88 key controller).

I did not select to install the Generic lower latency Asio at install because I already have an ASIO driver with my Fast Track Ultra M-Audio external sound card.

I tried it as standalone, and from within my DAW (Mixcraft). Same deal. Not very intuitive so far...

So, what am I missing?

Thanks in advance.

Andre

misohoza
Member
Posts: 966
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 3 SE: I see MIDI activity but hear no sound

Post by misohoza »

Check your settings in plugin preferences. Maybe you don't have correct output channels selected.
HSSE Preferences.PNG
(291.8 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Dorico 3,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

creativeforge
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 3 SE: I see MIDI activity but hear no sound

Post by creativeforge »

Yes, but I don't see my sound card in stand alone:

Stand-alone Halion SE
halion.jpg
(338.11 KiB) Not downloaded yet
And in my DAW I didn't change anything:
5e4420756be075eef76379000fd54935.png
(63.53 KiB) Not downloaded yet
If I open any other virtual instrument (Kontakt for example) I have sound immediately.

Thanks!

Achord
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 12:40 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 3 SE: I see MIDI activity but hear no sound

Post by Achord »

Bumping this. I'm on a Win10 laptop. No sound.

I just installed HSSE3 (and did the licensing thing) and have it running just as a standalone to test it out. I'm simply trying to hear some of the sounds by selecting them (IE: GM 039 Synth Bass 1) and poking the virtual keyboard along the bottom.

I'm seeing the midi things light up OK when I poke at the virtual keys.


When I go into Preferences -> Output -> Audio output ports --> I see: Speakers (Realtek High Defin 1)

Anything else I should be looking at? The Advanced Tab? Control Panel? (IE: allow ASIO exclusive control... ?)

Any suggestions?

Achord
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 12:40 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 3 SE: I see MIDI activity but hear no sound

Post by Achord »

OK, I wasn't aware that I'm supposed to drag the instrument up into the track, right?

Now when I do, I'm getting a popup message: "Some Audio Files are Missing, Please check installation"

Now what?

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest