CPU compatibility with Cubase Pro 10.5

Interested in Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 or Cubase Elements 10? Having questions regarding the update or upgrade to the latest version? Please post here!
Post Reply
geomontgo77
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 12:40 am
Location: Casper, WY
Contact:

CPU compatibility with Cubase Pro 10.5

Post by geomontgo77 »

I have read the system requirements for installing Cubase 10.5, but am not very computer savvy, so I hope someone can help/advise...

I have tried US tech support email, but they have been vague and quite unhelpful and keep suggesting using this forum for help, which I find a little disappointing, but alas - here I am!

A brief introduction: I have been a Cubase 6 user for nearly 10 years running on a dedicated non-internet Windows 7 machine. Love the software and have made hundreds of albums/songs/etc. with it. It has been extremely stable and I have never had an issue with anything using it almost daily, so I need to reliably count on things to work w/out issues. The newest version looks incredible and I'd like to step up and get all the new features and benefits it has to offer, but with a CPU that is also around 10 years old I am suspecting that I will have to do some pretty major upgrades to it in order for it to "work", which I am willing to do, but if I don't have to - Great!

Here's what I already know:
  • Need to upgrade OS to Windows 10 (which I assume I can do w/out issues with my current configuration)
  • Need 8GB RAM or more
  • CPU "Minimum" is Intel Core i series or AMD Ryzen multi-core (which I am confused as to if my current configuration is equal to or "Just as good")
  • CPU Recommended: Intel i5 or faster (again - is this necessary for me given my machine and what it has?)
Here are my CPU details (see attached pictures):
  • Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz 2.40 GHz
  • RAM: 8.00 GB
  • 64-bit OS
  • Computer: (via Device Manager) ACPI x64-based PC
20201005_173948.jpg
(751.02 KiB) Not downloaded yet
20201005_173903.jpg
(465.99 KiB) Not downloaded yet
20201005_173852.jpg
(508.16 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Hopefully this is enough information to determine my request.

If anyone can advise, I'd really appreciate it. Let me know if you need any other details, pictures, etc.

Thanks in advance!
Asus Prime Z390-P MB, Intel Core i7-9700F 8 Core 3 GHz, Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz, Samsung 970 EVO SSD 500GB dedicated system drive, SATA storage drives. Windows 10 Home, Cubase 10.5, Tascam FW1884, Echo Audiofire12, Mackie MCU Pro, lots of Analog OB pres and comps.

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5472
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU compatibility with Cubase Pro 10.5

Post by svennilenni »

geomontgo77 wrote:
Fri Oct 09, 2020 1:08 am
I have read the system requirements for installing Cubase 10.5, but am not very computer savvy, so I hope someone can help/advise...

I have tried US tech support email, but they have been vague and quite unhelpful and keep suggesting using this forum for help, which I find a little disappointing, but alas - here I am!
Quite obviously the official support will not give you any official clearence for a computer that has specs, that don´t fit the official system requirements - more than understandable.

Yammy85
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:25 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU compatibility with Cubase Pro 10.5

Post by Yammy85 »

I am interested in getting Cubase Elements 10.5, but first need to get a PC together.
my choice is basic
Intel i7
16gb Ram
Windows 10....
i will be using a Behringer audio interface via USB..
i guess this will be sufficient?

geomontgo77
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 12:40 am
Location: Casper, WY
Contact:

Re: CPU compatibility with Cubase Pro 10.5

Post by geomontgo77 »

FWIW - I went with the following components for my upgraded CPU to run Cubase 10.5 from 6. Maybe this will help people like me in my situation since nobody here or at Steinberg really gave me any useful help or information...?
  • Asus Prime Z390-P LGA1151 (Intel 8th and 9th Gen) DDR4 DP HDMI M.2 Z390 ATX Motherboard with USB 3.1 Gen2
  • Intel Core i7-9700F Desktop Processor 8 Core 3 GHz speed
  • Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16 Desktop Memory Kit - Black
  • EVGA SuperNOVA 650 Ga, 80 Plus Gold 650W, Fully Modular, ECO Mode with Dbb Fan, 10 Year Warranty, Compact 150mm Size, Power Supply 220-GA-0650-X1
  • Samsung (MZ-V7E500BW) 970 EVO SSD 500GB - M.2 NVMe Interface Internal Solid State Drive with V-NAND Technology, Black/Red
  • Seagate BarraCuda 2TB Internal Hard Drive HDD – 3.5 Inch SATA 6Gb/s 7200 RPM 256MB Cache 3.5-Inch
  • be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4, BK022, 250W TDP, CPU Cooler
The rest I can/will salvage from my old system (case, video card, video monitors, etc.)

I have all the components and have DL'd Windows 10 and the update from Cubase6 to 10.5 and am ready to dive in this weekend!! Hopefully I made the correct choices... Should be a killer system!
Asus Prime Z390-P MB, Intel Core i7-9700F 8 Core 3 GHz, Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz, Samsung 970 EVO SSD 500GB dedicated system drive, SATA storage drives. Windows 10 Home, Cubase 10.5, Tascam FW1884, Echo Audiofire12, Mackie MCU Pro, lots of Analog OB pres and comps.

KHS
Member
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU compatibility with Cubase Pro 10.5

Post by KHS »

So you bought the more expensive Z-series motherboard but didn't buy the "K" cpu.
Cubase Pro 11.0.0 - Audient ID22 - Adam A7X - Adam Sub 7 - Windows 10 Latest build - I7-7700K@4,5GHz - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM@3000MHz - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo - Corsair MP510 960 GB - Corsair MP510 1920 GB - Samsung 840 EVO 240 GB - Crucial MX300 525 GB.

worshiptuned
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 8:23 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU compatibility with Cubase Pro 10.5

Post by worshiptuned »

If this can help,

I used Cubase Elements 9.5, and now Cubase pro 10.5

with windows 10, 64 bit, an intel core 3 processor and 4GB of Ram

It works!!!!!! Of course if you use heavy plugins as Groove Agents ..... it suffers. You have to perform the actions slowly otherwise Cubase freezes. But you can record tracks and songs as long as you "disable some tracks" keeping the project light while recording and working with some plugins. For the mixing and mastering there is not problem, since you can increase the buffer.
I mean if you plan to make projects with 40 tracks it won't work, but for normal songs projects probably your old pc would have been enough

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest