Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Use this forum for an overview of collected issues and to report new ones.
Floid
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 10:30 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by Floid »

I get spikes when the network adapter is connected

So when i'm working with cubase i pull the usb network dongle out and usually get no spikes

-Floid

wavefunktion
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by wavefunktion »

Im having performance issues aswell, 100% Performance Load Spikes and certain Tools and Event handling causing unusually large increase in the performance load meter. If you're interested you can check out my detailed thread here:

viewtopic.php?f=233&t=105839

I really really hope steinberg is prioritising program stability and performance above adding new features that we do not need.

atron
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 & 9 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by atron »

Same problem with spikes ans drop-outs, and latency issues. I have UR 44. No matter what size is the buffer, i have 0.5 sec latency using VST instruments. When i'm starting a new project everything seems to be ok, but when adding a few VSTi,some audio tracks, latency issue appear again.
Everyone know if Cubase 9 solved this problems?
I have tested same configuration with Ableton and there are no problems.

I I did an upgrade to Cubase 9 Pro, fresh install...same problems...big latency and drops still there.
Don't know what to do...StudioOne and other DAW has no problems...


Cubase 8.5.20 PRO & Cubase9 Pro

Win7/64
Intel I5-4460, 16GB RAM
1 TB HDD 7200

JimAudio
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 6:52 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by JimAudio »

I'm on a macbook pro with the latest Cubase 8.5 and experience dropouts every time I select or deselect record for an individual track during recording of multiple tracks. Also whenever I add an insert effect during play. Pretty frustrating! Tried all the above. nothing so far.

MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014)
2,5 GHz Intel Core i716 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB

yaro
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by yaro »

One year ago I worked on a MacBook Pro (8GB RAM) When I saw drops and CPU spikes I thought that the computer is weak (not powerful enough). That's why I bought a Mac Pro in the best possible configuration (64GB RAM etc.). But nothing has changed and the problem also appears on the new MacPro. I usually use an external hardware, MIDI, thus, everything the Cubase offers. All for what I paid !

It's sad that Steinberg is unable to remedy such a serious mistake for several years. Maybe its competitors will be pleased new client.

ebsyol
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 4:11 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by ebsyol »

I have the same issue with cubase 8.5 on windows 8 with a decent 8GB RAM PC.
It didn't happen before, so I'm pretty sure it started with on of the latest updates.

Is Steinberg really looking at it ???
My system is basically not usable as of now, it drops or stops during recording !! with only one (!) instrument (driven by a midi keyboard) with the default config and one vocal audio (default settings as well).
Is Cubase really a professional software ??

Looking at this thread, I see many cases with very powerful HW getting the same issue, even with v9...
I am now seriously thinking of giving up Cubase for a competitor.

Seeker_UK
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by Seeker_UK »

I am very unhappy with Steinberg.

A case was raised vi "My Support" on 08 March 2017 and as yet Steinberg haven't even acknowledged it.

This is not the level of service I would expect from others. And yet they want me to spend £60 upgrading to Cubase 9?

Time to find another DAW.

BTW - who do you have to write to @ Steinberg to complain?

JimAudio
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 6:52 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by JimAudio »

Still no reply? The problem hasn't got any better and this is dreadful service from Steinberg! Where are you?!

wcb123
Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by wcb123 »

Chest Rockwell wrote:I thought I would chime in since I was experiencing the same issues expressed here. Initially I was running Vienna Ensemble and working fine but when I would add Kontakt 5 in the rack the dropouts and hiccups and CPU spikes would happen. Spikes and loud pops. If I removed Kontakt 5 all was fine- not good of course. So I came to this board.
I have a PC running Win 8 with Intel i7 quad core and Cubase 8.5 64bit and an RME UCX.
I updated the RME drivers and flashed the hardware. I updated Vienna Instruments and Ensemble. And lastly, I turned off Audio Guard. All good. Hope this helps with the troubleshooting. Just wanting to help.

There has evidently been a conflict with Cubase, VEP and Kontakt for some time. They all deny it's their problem and blame eachother. Im getting sick of this. Can't get anything done, one week everything can run smoothly the next Cubase#s meters are going nuts. It's almost like Cubase forgets to release CPU that's not being used anymore. There are big problems with ASIO Guard. STILL.. One of these three programmes causes serious problems and it needs to be resolved.

One thing i've noticed - i switch between templates alot for different purposes. I have a mixing template that requires alot of Plugins where i have to up the buffer count and use High ASIO Guard. I also have an orchestral template which has barely any Plugins running in cubase but VEP is connected with all the Kontkt Libraries. In that template i lower the buffer on the Mixcontrol to reduce latency and use a Normal ASIO Guard setting.

The very act of changing the ASIO Guard setting between one project and another (which changes it globally for the other projects) screws my projects up that were previously working pretty smoothly. CPU levels don't go down. If i bypass all effects it still says CPU is at 50pc. Whereas in Task Manager i am barely using any CPU.
Windows 7
Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Intel i7 980 @3.33GHz (12 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory - 48Gb
______________

Cubase 10
NVIDIA GeForce 210
Focusrite Saffire Pro24
Casio Privia 330
Korg Microkey
Quested s8r

JimAudio
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 6:52 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by JimAudio »

Still nothing. Terrible :(

User avatar
Reflection
Member
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by Reflection »

I havent had problems with drop outs and spikes, in a loong time.

I do scoring and a lot of heavy mix prossesing.

A few tips from me on windows setups.

1. Get the hardware sorted.
You dont want your sound interface on same bus with other components (wifi and graphic is the whorst). So check your irq/lanes.
You dont want your cpu or any of your usb ports too use powersaving scedules. So turn them all off and run at full power.
Is your sound interface supported by the onboard chipset?
Using dsp cards? They need same care as your sound interface.
Is your bios and drivers up to date with your windows?

2. Asio guard and hyper threading.
The asio guard is made to support hyper threading. HT slows down the cpu respons. So the asio guard is there to give the cpu some extra buffer, to get up to speed. The HT/asio guard combo will improve preformance when you start to use bigger cpu loads. It is not so good with low cpu loads, low latency direct monitoring or any real time audio with low buffer settings. Simply to the fact, that HT slows down the cpu acceleration. So I take HT off at tracking, and Turn it on at Mixing if cpu load is heavy.

3. Multicore support.
This is where Cubase have issues IMO. When you enable for multicore support in Cubase. It only works partualy.
Every plugin that I have with a multicore option in settings, dont seam too be handled by Cubase multicore setting. This is probly due to the fact the plugins dont take use of the multicore setting in Cubase.
So I enable it direct on the plugin. Dosent matter if it is a steinberg plugin or 3 party. But enabeling the multicore support from the plugin, drasticly improves preformance. So check your plugins and try multicore support direct from plugin.

4. Dont use more Cpu then you need.
When ever you arm a vst instrument. It will start monitor for a input and task the cpu extra.
So on a heavy project where you are mixing and just doing simple mouse corrections to midi and such.
Make shure to take off the arm track at select track option. It has bin the source for many crackle and pops.
If you are not tracking, The real time meter should be way lower then the cpu usage meter. If it is not. You are arming a track. Also there is litle point having a low buffer setting, when you are not tracking. So adjust it as you need it. Streaming samples direct from disk, will also task the cpu. But not that much. It migh smooth out a heavy project loading more samples to ram. I never hit that limit my self. But it can happend.

5. Dont enable more use of your sound interface then needed.
You dont need to use your wdm driver in windows, when you use Cubase. You also dont need to have the asio driver running in the back ground, un less you are using a stand alone program that needs the asio driver. Keep it as simple as possible.

So these are my few main tips.

When ever I help out a fellow engineer/musician with unstable real time preformance. It is usualy these things that are fault for the bad preformance. Rest is just software bugs, wrong settings/use of functions.
os: win 10 64bit (latest). Cubase pro 10.5.20, 10.0.40
Hw: maximus xii hero 1200, I9 10900K, 32gb ram, nvida GTX 1070.
Sound: A&H Gsr-24M. Otari mtr-90mk2, Mx-55.
Dsp: uad-2. Powercore.
Daw control: Nektar Panorama p4, A&H Gsr-24M

BaseCu
Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by BaseCu »

Reflection wrote: 4. Dont use more Cpu then you need.
When ever you arm a vst instrument. It will start monitor for a input and task the cpu extra.
So on a heavy project where you are mixing and just doing simple mouse corrections to midi and such.
Make shure to take off the arm track at select track option. It has bin the source for many crackle and pops.

If you are not tracking, The real time meter should be way lower then the cpu usage meter. If it is not. You are arming a track. Also there is litle point having a low buffer setting, when you are not tracking. So adjust it as you need it. Streaming samples direct from disk, will also task the cpu. But not that much. It migh smooth out a heavy project loading more samples to ram. I never hit that limit my self. But it can happend.
I just discovered this myself while trying to reduce real-time peak spikes. Whenever I highlight an Instrument track with record enabled, I get fairly severe real-time peak spikes. If I simply switch to an audio track (with record enabled or disabled), or disable record on the Instrument track, the real-time peak meter drops to almost zero! So, I unticked the "Enable Record on Selected MIDI Track" setting and now only enable record on Instrument tracks when I need to.

Thanks for posting all this info; it's useful to know that this is not a problem specific to my system, but rather a problem with Cubase. Cheers...
Studio One, Reaper, Sonar, Cubase | Win10 | i7 8750H/16 GB | RME Fireface UCX

MightBMe
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:42 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by MightBMe »

I had this problem and it drove me crazy for a few months. I'm on 8.5 Win 64. What worked for me was:
Going into device settings and activating Steinberg audio power scheme SAPS.
Going into my Windows power settings and making sure that the SAPS was enabled when Cubase was opened. It should automatically revert back to whatever setup it was on before opening Cubase.

The weird thing for me was that originally, if I'd enabled the SAPS, I'd get the spikes. At some point it all reverted to normal and this is how I now have it set up.
i7 4700MQ 16Gb Toshiba laptop SSD Card
Motu Ultralite Mk3 Audio interface
Panorama P4 midi controller
KRK Rokit 8 Monitor Speakers

Jouleskeys
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8.5 - CPU Drop-outs and spikes and more

Post by Jouleskeys »

Has this been fixed as have had this issue for years with 8.5 Pro and now it's in 10 when arming midi. Seriously need this fixed or have a work around without being told to turn the buffer size up!
Cubase 10.5 Pro & Jbridge for old 32bit plugs
Motherboard: Asrock 570X Extreme
RAM: 16GB x2 Ryzen Vengeance DDR4 3600 RAM
CPU: Ryzen9 3950X
HDs: Intel M.2 SSD OS, Corsair Performance Pro, Samsung Evo, Audio running on a 2TB SATA moving HD @ 7200RPM
PCIe: 2 Port Lycom PE-107 PCI-E FireWire 800 (1394b)
Audio: RME Fireface 800 + Midiman 8x8s Midisport
Graphics: Radeon MSI 580 Armor 8GB

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests